

POLICY	
HR-110 Elections-Station Leadership	
Original Date	Revision Date
2013-04-25	2024-01-22

Policy

The Station Leader (SL) and Deputy Station Leader (DSL) shall be elected every two years. A member is eligible to serve two consecutives two-year terms. A third two-year term is permissible with the approval of the CEO.

Reason for Policy

This policy is intended to ensure a fair and transparent process for selecting the persons who will fill the station based senior leadership positions. It is critical that all members have opportunity to have input through a democratic process into the selection of their leadership.

Guidelines

- 1. Elections for the positions of Station Leader (SL) and Deputy Station Leader (DSL) are to be held every two years normally at a full meeting of the station. Once completed, the results are to be provided to the Manager, Operations.
 - 2. The Manager Operations shall confirm to the CEO that the newly elected SL and DSL are qualified and suitable to assume the positions as per the criteria below.
 - a. Must be in good standing as a member and not under investigation for any alleged breach of policy.
 - b. Demonstrated knowledge of RCMSAR's mission, vision, values and strategic objectives.
 - c. Demonstrated a thorough understanding of the workings of a station and its operations.
 - d. Demonstrated leadership skills either with RCMSAR or with another organization such as an employer or the military.
 - e. Well-developed interpersonal skills, including the ability to communicate effectively verbally and in writing.
 - f. **Two years** progressive service with RCMSAR at the station level preferred.
- 3. Once their election is confirmed by the Manager Operations, the newly elected SL shall arrange an orientation meeting with the CEO and the Manager of Operations.

Effective: April 25, 2013 Version:1 Updated: January 22, 2024 Approved: CEO Page 1 of 2 Document: HR 110

- 4. The positions of SL and DSL shall not normally be held by the same member for more than two consecutive terms. A third two-year term is permissible but only with the express permission of the CEO. Following a break of two years from both positions a member may again stand for office.
- 5. The outgoing SL is not eligible to stand for the position of DSL if they have already served two consecutive terms, but may stand for DSL if they have only served one term as SL.
- 6. The newly elected SL and DSL shall assume office on the first day of the month following the month in which the election took place.
- 7. Other leadership positions such as the Training Officer, etc. will be appointed by the SL.

Election Criteria/Process

- 1. Thirty calendar days notice of an election must be given in writing (electronic means will suffice) to all active station members.
- 2. Meetings can be held electronically via Zoom, Teams etc.
- 3. The election process will normally be chaired by an outgoing SL or DSL, who is not standing for office. However, if both are standing for re-election, the Training Officer or other designate will be asked to conduct the election.
- 4. An election shall only take place when a majority of members in good standing are present. A majority is 50% of the total number of active members of the station. Only active members in good standing are eligible to vote.
- 5. Active members who are unable to attend can cast a proxy vote which must be in writing and assigned to another member to exercise who must attend the meeting.
- 6. The Chair will introduce a call for nominations for a position. In the absence of a nomination a call for an expression of interest may be introduced. Once nominations or a call for expressions of interest are closed no more may be brought forward.
- 7. Nominee(s) will be asked if they accept the nomination.
- 8. A vote shall be conducted by secret ballot and the votes will be counted by the Chair of the election meeting and two other members selected by the Chair.
- 9. The member standing for office receiving a simple majority of the votes cast (50% of members voting plus 1) shall be deemed elected and the result announced by the Chair.

Bill Riggs
Bill Riggs (Jan 25, 2024 13:15 PST)

Effective: April 25, 2013 Version:1 Updated: January 22, 2024 Approved: CEO Page 2 of 2 Document: HR 110